Shopping across the boarder

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shopping across the boarder

I'm new to cross boarder shopping, so please bear with me. The lease on our Car is up this year and were looking at purchasing an Audi Q5. After quickly building a model, the price here in Canada is roughly $56,000. After building the same model on the American website the price was about $48,000. Can any one give me some insight to what taxes or extra fees I would or could face at the border? Will the $8000 I'm saving just be dwindled away with little extra bs fees? From the small amount of research I've done the factory warrenties are honoured in Canada. Has any one heard otherwise?

Any help or advice would be great thank s guys!!

Re: Shopping across the boarder

You will pay tax of 5% on any vehicle imported, you will also pay 6% (I believe) because the vehicle is made in Germany. On top of that, you will need an out of province inspection and you will need to get the dealer to activate DRL (or somebody with vagcom).

Comment

I'm not sure about the exact law, but I was under the impression to buy a brand new car from the states, you need to be a resident. Again not exactly sure, but something worth researching. Also there was alot of dealerships that would not transfer warrantee across borders. With that in mind, is it worth the savings?

Car: 48000
      Tax: 2400 (48000 x 0.05)
      Duty: 3074.4 (50400 x 0.061)
      OOP: 150
      Flight out: 250-500
      Gas and hotels depending where you pick it up: 250-1000

So you final price is roughly $54124.4 - $55124.4

Its up to you whether its worth the hassle to save 1-2 grand, but potentially lose the warrantee. Check out www.RIV.ca if you need any more info about importing cars from the US
      Patryk
      Instagram: @parkus08

91 BMW 340is ///M-Tech II - Under construction
      08 VW .:R32
      04 Audi A4 Avant 1.8TQ

Comment