audi B6 avant guru's please.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• audi B6 avant guru's please.

looking to upgrade to an A4 wagon from my 2 door rabbit (it's for sale BTW).

what can you guys tell me about them? i'm looking at a 3.0l manual trans car. i know it's basically a passat so things like control arms, tie rods are an issue, as well as cam seals/timing belt. i'm a mechanic and used to work for vw so many things aren't an issue for me to repair, i'm just not all to familiar with these audis and the daily trivial things that bug you guys.

any other annoying bits i should look out for? car apparently has a CEL for a catalyst fault. i suspect i can just run test pipes and if so, is there a chip tune i need to cure something like that up?

thanks for your help gurus!! and PM me about my rabbit if you are interested. i'll get around to a for sale post shortly.
    you probably don't like me because someone else said they didn't lol. <3

Re: audi B6 avant guru's please.

hmm, may be interested in the rabbit for my sister. ill wait for your fs ad.

Comment

3.0 can be hard on the wallet. Timing belt is a very big job on that motor and requires some specialized tools to lock the cams in place and there are many 1 time use only bolts that everyone thinks they don't need to change. If done wrong can be even more expensive. It was a very forgetable engine and wasn't available for long, for good reason.
      2.0T is worlds better and 1/2 the price to maintain. Plus it is very easy and inexpensive to make more power in those engines.

Hope that helps

Erik
      Last edited by Parts Erik; 04-09-2013, 05:28 PM.
      Service Manager
      Audi Royal Oak

403-374-5018
      erikk@royaloakaudi.com

Comment