Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Looking for cable modem, advice, switching providers...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for cable modem, advice, switching providers...

I've decided to change over to 3web, my customer loyalty discount is up at Telus, and its costing me $42.50 a month for measly 1.5Mbit service, with a 10 gig cap....So, I'm looking for a little advice, I'm new to the cable market! I was told by someone that the new Motorola Docsis modems cannot have usage tracked on them: myth or fact?

Next up, who uses 3web, its the shaw system so I would imagine the same modems would apply...They sell the modems for $100 bucks from 3web, but does anyone here have one to get rid of, or know anyone selling one?

Which modem is better?? The Motorola SB5100 surfboard (its older?), or the RCA DCM315R?? Both are Docsis 2.0 compatible, so speed isn't an issue.....I also heard the motorola ones are better, and judging by the rest of the motorola electronics I use and abuse on a daily basis, quality isn't an issue...

If anyone can hook me up with a software bundle from 3 web that would be cool too...
    Thanks in advance....
    Last edited by Aleks; 07-19-2005, 06:17 PM.
    2006 Colorado Xtreme | AEM CAI | Walker exhaust | smoked glass | -1" dropped rear | Avic D3 | 8000K HID's
    2002 GTI 1.8t | C1 SS | Upsolute 94 oct | Brullen 2.5" DP | Supersprint catback | Poly mounts | 19" Privat's | FK 55 kit | Projector lights | EVOMS CAI
    2000 GSXR750 | Hindle Race exhaust | Telefonica replica | K&N intake | Custom ECU

Re: Looking for cable modem, advice, switching providers...

I've read the support bites as they have to contact Shaw who then deals with it. Search beyond and see if anything bad comes up. Also, I would assume since they are a reseller, they will track usage more than Shaw - similar to Nucleus. If you have cable I'd just bundle it as it's cheaper. That's the only reason I switched.