Help with MK4 VR6 Maintenance?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with MK4 VR6 Maintenance?

So I recently bought a 2000 Jetta VR (245,000km), and fixed a few minor things like replacing a mirror and fixing the handbrake (I'll need the handbrake this winter )

This weekend when it dipped down to -20°C, I noticed that it takes a little long to warm up, and the temp gauge likes to bounce around between 0° and 90°. To solve the gauge issue, I picked up a green top temp sensor from C1, and still need to put that in. As for it taking long to warm up, I'm being led to believe that the tstat is stuck open, or partially open.

What I need help with is changing the tstat and sensor. For some of you, I'm sure this is a piece of cake. I'm still used to working with a MK2 8v, where there's tons of room in the bay and everything is easily accessible. I'm totally new to MK4s and VR6s so any help would be greatly appreciated. Vortex had some vague and not so helpful info. Next week will be relatively warm, so that would work best IMO. Can pay cash, MK2 parts or beer.

PS. Yesterday my CEL went on for the first time. Today while driving, it decided to shut off. If anyone can scan my car with Vag-Com, that'd be great!
    -Faraaz

Re: Help with MK4 VR6 Maintenance?