MK6 LED tail lights

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MK6 LED tail lights

I just installed some LED tail lights w/ rear fog and wiring harnesses. I assumed that coding was need simply to remove the error that pops up, but when I turned my lights on the "inner lights" (the ones physically attached to the hatch) were not working, nor were the reverse lights. Will coding be needed to take care of that issue as well?

Thanks in advance

P.S. Yes I am a noob so please don't flame; I'm impressed with myself that I actually did a DIY.

Re: MK6 LED tail lights

Our ex-President installed them on his GTI before and there was some coding involved from what I remember. Scott (CGY_GTI) also did them on his if I recall correctly...
    --
    Rod
    Ex-presidente

Drive

2016 VW Golf .:R

Drove
    2001.5 Audi S4 / Santorin Blue STAGE II+ / JFonz Tuned

Comment

On the LED tails with the rear fog, they should work normally without the coding. If you haven't run the two new tires to/from the euroswitch yet, then the rear fog will come on when the car is in reverse, but other than that it should work normally. I had my LED tails on for nearly three months before I finally did the coding for the tails and did the wiring for my euroswitch.

Where did you order them from? I remember hearing about some of the ECS adapters (possibly others?) having wires crossed or something along those lines that would cause them to not work as they should. That would be the first thing I'd check. The only other thing that I've heard of that would cause a problem like that was caused by using the wrong coding.

That's all I've got at the moment. Check the adapters and if you're still having the problem after that then I'll see what I can dig up on Vortex.
      Scott
      '23 Audi Q5 Technik | Ultra Blue Metallic | Black​
      '01 DC5 Honda Integra Type R | Championship White | Red

Comment